SQL Saturday #92 – Portland

With the PASS Summit just a few days after SQL Saturday #92 in Portland, OR, and just 180 miles north, you might think that the Portland event is just a warm-up, like going to a minor league baseball game, but that’s nothing further from the truth.  You can always count on Arnie Rowland putting together a first-class event and attracting speakers and sponsors of PASS Summit quality.  Take a glance at the October 8 roster of speakers and sessions and you’ll see what I’m talking about.  If the great schedule isn’t enough, Portland is a really fun, beauitful town with tons to do and some of the best food in the country.  I’ve had the opportunity to travel to Portland in the last 2 years because of a consulting engagement in the area and I’m happy to have had a chance to take in the scenery, sample the restaurants and enjoy the ambiance.

If you’re from out of town and new to Portland, take a stroll downtown and along the Willamette river.  Pop in to a local coffee shop and drink the city’s own Stumptown coffee.  Go to Powell’s bookstore for one of the best book browsing experiences you can have.  Make sure you take in the view of Mt. Hood if it’s a clear day.  You can always go to the nationally famous Voodoo Donuts where I find the standing in line and meeting people experience more interesting than the donuts themselves.  And if you want good food and drink you can’t miss if you partake at Pine State Biscuits, A Pizza Scholls, Deschutes Brewery, Moroccan cuisine at Dar Essalam in Wilsonville, or Petite Provence, probably the best french boulangerie/patisserie in the world (sorry France!)  I don’t think I’ve had a disappointing meal yet in Portland.   To top it off, the SQL Saturday event itself is on the waterfront.

See you there and don’t forget to come to my session Real-time Data Warehouse and Reporting at 10:15 in the morning.  I’m going to cover numerous topics in a little over an hour; SQL Server Replication, CDC, Star Schemas, SSIS, and Reporting, all in real-time.

8 responses

  1. Carlos,
    It was a really good session in Portland; I like how you managed to show so much in given time. Would you mind posting the slides/bits of code in follow-up.
    Thanks,
    PJ

    1. Thanks for the feedback PJ. I will post the demo and slide deck. Give me a few days as I’m barely recovering from PASS and have a busy week ahead, but I’ll get it out there and let you know as soon as I do.

  2. Carlos,
    I agree with PJ. Your session was very content-full, the demo was excellent, and the pace was spot on. I would love to show my team the demo as we are just now starting the next phase of our data warehousing project. If you could post or pass the demo along, we would be very grateful.
    Thanks!
    Janice P

    1. As I replied to PJ, I’ll get the demo out there this week and let you know. Thanks for attending the session Janice and I’m glad you liked the demo.

      1. I hate to nag, but it was really good stuff.

      2. PJ (and Janice), I profusely apologize for not providing this earlier. I’ve had a reminder to post this demo for weeks but I kept putting it off. I didn’t have the scripts together as a coherent set, but I finally got it done. Please contact me if you need help with them. Go to this page to download the demo:

        http://carlosbossy.wordpress.com/downloads/?preview=true&preview_id=450&preview_nonce=4c269d941a

        Or click on this link to download it directly:

        http://www.aabcomsolutions.com/files/Real-time_DW_Demo.zip

        Again, I apologize!!!

      3. Not a problem Carlos! This is perfect timing for me. I appreciate your effort!

  3. Thank you for posting this.
    It is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

