PASS Summit 2012 brings people together

I spent last week at the PASS Summit in Seattle and it was an experience worth writing about.  I presented two session which I’ll also talk about, but I want to cover the greater event first.  This conference brings people together better than any conference I’ve attended, and it isn’t even close.  A great effort is made by the Summit organizers, volunteers, and attendees to keep you busy either attending sessions or meeting with people.  I participated by being a first-time attendee mentor and heading up a birds of a feather table at Friday’s lunch, but there were so many that I couldn’t be part of them all.  Yet it seems I spent the whole week, outside of sessions, talking to old friends and meeting new people from 8 AM until 10 PM every day.  The talk ranged from mentoring people new to the SQL Server world to discussing deep technical issues, new business opportunities, and ideas for SQL Saturdays and user’s groups.   This is the true value of the Summit that no other conference provides.  When you combine the networking at the Summit with all of the associated local and regional events such as user’s groups and SQL Saturdays, you really get to know people in the community in a personal way.

My Sessions

I had the privilege of presenting two sessions at the Summit this year.  I presented Real-time Data Warehouse and Reporting Solutions on Friday and to my surprise, the room was so full that the moderator had to close the door 10 minutes before the scheduled start time.  There were even people sitting on the floor!  The attendance and the participation was great to see.  There was great interaction with the audience during the session and 30 minutes of follow up questions afterwards.  The demo for this session is really difficult to get working during the presentation, but I’m happy to say that I got it running!

My other session was Thursday morning titled Data Modeling Best Practices for Enterprise Tabular Models.  The session also had a full house, although it wasn’t so full that the moderator needed to close the doors.  There was also a lot of interaction during this session and questions afterwards. My only regret about this presentation is that one of my DAX queries didn’t work.  I had a cheat sheet so I could copy and paste longer code and avoid typing in front of the audience, but even this failed.  I must have made a stray keystroke into the cheat sheet when I was reviewing the presentation beforehand in the speaker room.  I reviewed it later and it turned out I had removed a parentheses from the middle of the DAX code.  It’s really difficult to debug code during a session and after a couple of quick attempts and suggestions from the audience I decided to move on.

I should have looked on my own blog!  The correct code was right there since I had blogged about the topic a week earlier, but I felt compelled to move on and not hold up the session any longer since the point I wanted to make with the failing DAX code wasn’t foundational to the presentation.  However, it’s always disappointing when something like this happens because I spent so much time preparing.  It makes me think I should prepare my demos using techniques from the Food channel, where I have a version of it already baked so I can go to it just in case it fails during the presentation.  I’ll blog about the failed code later this week since it reinforces some of the points I was making regarding the BI Architect’s decision-making process for Enterprise Tabular Models..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 473 other followers

