Getting the most out of SQL Rally

I’m headed to Dallas for SQL Rally this afternoon from Colorado and I’m really looking forward to it, not just because I’m going to present a session on Columnstore Indexing, but because of everything else I get to do.  I’m one of those people who over the years has had to learn how to attend a conference and get as much out of it as possible, and I think I’ve finally got it down.

Little Sleep, No TV

Even though I’ll be there a little more than 48 hours, my schedule is already packed.  I’m going to the speaker reception tonight, the social networking over coffee Friday morning, I’ll stop by the karaoke Thursday night (but not sing), and I’ll make sure and be at the Women in Technology luncheon.  I even volunteered to be a room monitor for a few sessions on Thursday to help out in other ways (although the last time I monitored a session the demo crashed, so I hope that’s not an omen).  I’m sure I’ll do even more than this as impromptu get togethers will take place while I’m there, so I’ll meet someone for breakfast Thursday morning or make plans in the hall for dinner.  And of course, I’ll be attending a bunch of sessions in addition to presenting.  That’s a lot for a couple of days, but that’s how I’m going to get the most out of SQL Rally.  I’m not planning on getting a lot of sleep or watching TV in my hotel room.

Welcome to Columnstores

Columnstore indexing is one of the new features provided by SQL Server 2012 that make it easier to break through the barriers of BI adoption for you.  It’s a simple but powerful data structure that requires planning and special considerations.  I hope to see you at my session where I’ll provide a thorough breakdown of Columnstore indexing and the best ways to use it in your own BI environment.

Leave a Reply

